Our Staff

Key School Contacts

General Enquiries School of Philosophical, Historical and International Studies
Room W605, Menzies Building
20 Chancellors Walk, Clayton Campus
Monash University
Clayton, Victoria 3800
Phone: +61 3 9905 2172
Head of School Professor Alistair Thomson
Deputy Head of School Associate Professor Toby Handfield
Research Coordinator Professor Andrew Markus
School Manager Alice Davies
School Executive Officer Silvie Luscombe

Undergraduate and Honours Programs

Education Coordinator Dr Monima Chadha
Honours Coordinator Dr Ruth Morgan
First year Coordinator Dr Gillian Bowen
Course Advice Contact Arts Student Services
Course Advice Appointment Times
Flexible Delivery Program
(Philosophy and Bioethics)
Coordinator, Flexible Learning
Dr Monima Chadha

Postgraduate Programs


Historical Studies HDR Program

Associate Professor Seamus O’Hanlon
Graduate Research Administrator
(Historical Studies)
Ms Sascha Burnside
Phone: +61 3 990 52166
Email: Sascha.Burnside@monash.edu

Director, Philosophy HDR Program Professor Graham Oppy
Graduate Research Administrator
(Philosophy Program)
Ms Celeste Hulse
Phone: +61 3 990 55447
Email: Celeste.Hulse@monash.edu

Postgraduate Coursework Coordinator Associate Professor Justin Oakley
Postgraduate Coursework Advice Contact Arts Student Services
Course Advice Appointment Times

Departments / Discipline Areas

Centre for Ancient Cultures Director and Discipline Coordinator:
Associate Professor Colin Hope
Centre for Ancient Cultures staff list
Centre for Human Bioethics Director:
Professor Michael Selgelid
Centre for Human Bioethics staff list
History Program

Head of History Program:
Professor Bain Attwood
History Department staff list

Human Rights Theory Program Discipline Coordinator:
Associate Professor Toby Handfield
International Studies Program Director and Discipline Coordinator:
Dr Julie Kalman
International Studies Program staff list
Australian Centre for Jewish Civilisation Director:
Associate Professor Mark Baker
Australian Centre for Jewish Civilisation staff list
Department of Philosophy Head of Department of Philosophy:
Associate Professor Toby Handfield
Department of Philosophy staff list
Centre for Religious Studies Director and Discipline Coordinator:
Professor Constant Mews
Centre for Religious Studies staff list
Centre for Medieval and Renaissance Studies Director:
Associate Professor Peter Howard
Centre for Medieval and Renaissance Studies staff list