Current Postgraduate Researchers

Monash Sociology has the pleasure of welcoming postgraduate researchers joining us throughout the year and farewelling our graduates as they move into exciting careers. Our current postgraduate researchers are listed below.

Sophie Chandra

Sophie Chandra – cxcha1@student.monash.edu

Research Interests: Multiculturalism, Race, Ethnicity, Racism, Critical Race Theory, Migration, Transnationalism.
Read more…

Vanessa Copa Torrez

Vanessa Copa Torrez – vanessa.copa@monash.edu

Research Interests: Sustainable development, water management, urban water governance, urban sustainability, transitions theory, developing city contexts, indigenous knowledge.
Read more…

Erik Denison

Erik Denison – erik.denison@monash.edu

Research Interests: Behavioural Science, Social Psychology, Sporting Culture, Sport Inclusion (Gender, Sexuality, Race), Prejudice Reduction, Sport Participation, Sport Industry, Sport Marketing.
Read more…

Erika Duncan-Horner

Erika Duncan-Horner – erika.duncan-horner@monash.edu

Research Interests: Inequality, development, urbanisation, cultural ethnography, behaviour change, social psychology, social movements, water and sanitation, radical innovations, Asia.
Read more…

Francesco M. Gimelli

Francesco M. Gimelli – Francesco.gimelli@monash.edu

Research Interests: Inequality, development, informality, urbanisation, urban planning, participation.
Read more…

Yen (Hoang) Ha

Yen (Hoang) Ha – yen.ha@monash.edu

Research Interests: LGBT, youth, migration, inequalities, Vietnamese abroad, International students.
Read more…

Neeti Aryal Khanal

Neeti Aryal Khanal – neeti.khanal@monash.edu

Research Interests: Gender, Sociology of health, Disability, Violence against women, Conflict.
Read more…

Lyubka Lazarova

Lyubka Lazarova – lzlaz1@student.monash.edu

Research Interests: Understanding the cultural-sensitive nature of human identity and its symbols. Volunteering context.
Read more…

Bernice Loh

Bernice Loh – bernice.loh@monash.edu

Research Interests: Girlhood; young femininities; adultification; Asia; culture.
Read more…

Jodie Long

Jodie Long – jodie.long@monash.edu

Research Interests: Gender, education, marginalised, pregnant, parenting, connectedness, disconnected, adolescent, identity.
Read more…

Benjamin Lyall

Benjamin Lyall – benjamin.lyall@monash.edu

Research Interests: Wearable technology, social media, digital sociology.
Read more…

Jennifer Martin

Jennifer Martin – jenny.martin@monash.edu

Research Interests: Australian-born Chinese; hybridity; ethnicity; Chineseness; identity; groupism.
Read more…

An Nguyen

An Nguyen – thi.nguyen2@monash.edu

Research Interests: Disability, gender, family, sexual and reproductive health.
Read more…

Kien Nguyen

Kien Nguyen – kien.nguyen@monash.edu

Research Interests: Disaster and climate change resilience, social capital, civil participation, community development, qualitative research.
Read more…

Wikke Novalia

Wikke Novalia – wikke.novalia@monash.edu

Research Interests: Sustainability, urban transformation, agency, practice theory, institutional work.
Read more…

Kavindra Paranage

Kavindra Paranage – kavindra.paranage@monash.edu

Research Interests: Development, irrigation, regulation, ethnography.
Read more…

Gianluigi Rotondo

Gianluigi Rotondo – gianluigi.rotondo@monash.edu

Research Interests: Intercultural communication, refugees, asylum seekers, NGOs, Community-Based Organisations, resettlement, human rights.
Read more…

Erik Denison

Harry Tan – harry.tan@monash.edu

Research Interests: Homelessness, addictions-related issues, ageing, marginal populations, ethnography, social justice.
Read more…

Tahmina Yasmin

Tahmina Yasmin – tahmina.yasmin@monash.edu

Research Interests: Water governance, urban sustainability, adaptation pathways, developing countries, secondary city development.
Read more…