Zavod Classical-Jazz Fusion Award 2017

The Sir Zelman Cowen School of Music at Monash University is pleased to introduce the Zavod Classical-Jazz Fusion Award for outstanding classical-jazz fusion original composition and performance.

First Prize: $5000
Runner Up: $1000

The Award will be for a composition of up to ten minutes duration, that embodies elements of both jazz and classical styles and that which can extend into world music and third-stream compositional styles. This prestigious award is open to all tertiary music students enrolled in an Australian university and who have been a resident in Australia for a minimum of two years at the closing date. Applicants can be solo performers or ensembles (up to a maximum of five).

Applicants are invited to submit materials pertaining to the composition and performance of a classical-jazz fusion original composition in each of the following formats: (1) Mp3 audio file; (2) video of the performance (iPhone video is acceptable); (3) score in PDF format; (4) a brief description of the work (250 words max in PDF format); and (5) a photo of the performer(s).

Submission Deadline: 5pm, 20th April 2017

Three finalists will be announced by 27th April 2017

The three finalists will be required to perform at the Sir Zelman Cowen School of Music Lunchtime Concert on 4th May, 2017, at 1pm, after which a winner and runner-up will be announced at the conclusion of the concert. Those unable to attend, may screen a video performance of their work.

The prize is awarded on both the quality of the performance and the original composition. The decision of the judges is final. The judges reserve the right not to award the prize(s). First place holder will be awarded $5000 and the runner-up will be awarded $1000. No performance or associated travel costs will be covered as part of this award.

Submissions should be emailed to Mr Johannes Luebbers:

The Zavod Classical-Jazz Fusion Performers Award was created by Dr Allan Zavod DMus (Melb) and is generously supported by Mr Noel O’Brien and Mr Brendan O’Brien.