What’s on at the School of Music

July 2017

Thursday, 27 July: Classical Piano Highlights: Finalists of the Jasha Spivakovsky Prize, 1pm in the Music Auditorium. This event is part of our free Lunchtime Concert Series. 

August 2017

Thursday, 3 August: Omelette feat. Jordan Murray, Stephen Magnusson, Ronny Ferella and Javier Fredes, 1pm in the Music Auditorium. This event is part of our free Lunchtime Concert Series. 

Sunday, 6 August: Monash University Open Day at the School of Music. All School of Music information sessions, performances and events will be held at the Sir Zelman Cowen School of Music, 55 Scenic Boulevard, Monash University Clayton Campus. 10-3pm. 

Thursday, 10 August: Wind Blowing Through The Reeds: Zheng-Ting Wang, 1pm in the Music Auditorium. This event is part of our free Lunchtime Concert Series. 

Sunday, 13 August: Piano and Strings Mega Day! 1:30 – 6pm at the Sir Zelman Cowen School of Music (various rooms). This event requires prior registration. 

Thursday, 17 August: Rob Burke Sextet, 1pm in the Music Auditorium. This event is part of our free Lunchtime Concert Series. 

Wednesday, 23 August: Gail Priest, featuring Monash University Creative Music Technology students, 7pm in the Music Auditorium. This event is part of our free Sound Series.

Thursday, 24 August: Outlier: Experimental Music for Renaissance Instruments, 1pm in the Music Auditorium. This event is part of our free Lunchtime Concert Series. 

Thursday, 24 August: In Search of India: Book Launch, Performance and Exhibition. 5.30-7.30pm in the School of Music Auditorium. This event is free, but requires registration

Saturday 26 and Sunday 27 August: Jazz, Popular Studies and Creative Music Technology Audition Preparation Course 2017. 10-3pm at the School of Music (various venues). Total course registration: $280. This event requires registration. 

Thursday, 31 August: Classical Voice Students Entertain You! 1pm in the Music Auditorium. This event is part of our free Lunchtime Concert Series. 

September 2017

Friday, 1 September: Concerto and Aria Competition, 7:30pm in the Music Auditorium.  This event is part of our free Lunchtime Concert Series. 

Tuesday, 5 September: Simone de Haan Public Workshop, 7-9pm in the Music Auditorium. Entry to this event is free. 

Thursday, 7 September: David Krakauer in Performance, 1pm in the Music Auditorium. This event is part of our free Lunchtime Concert Series. 

Friday, 8 September: Monash Big Band with the Royal Australian Navy Band, 7:30pm in the Music Auditorium.  This event is part of our free Sound Series.

Saturday, 9 September: Brasileiro, featuring Guest Director Esdras Rodrigues, 8pm in the Music Auditorium. This event is part of our free Sound Series.

Sunday, 10 September: Clarinet Mega Day 2017! 8.45am in the Music Auditorium. This event requires registration.  

Monday, 11 September: Scapegoat perform new works by composition students, 8pm in the Music Auditorium. This event is part of our free Sound Series.

Wednesday, 13 September: Zubin Kanga (piano) and Leah Scholes (percussion) perform new works by composition students, 8pm in the Music Auditorium. This event is part of our free Sound Series.

Thursday, 14 September: Monash Funk Ensemble and World Music Ensemble, 1pm in the Music Auditorium. This event is part of our free Lunchtime Concert Series. 

Thursday, 21 September: Melanie Atma Gertler and Zen Zeng: Songs of the Mediterranean, 1pm in the Music Auditorium. This event is part of our free Lunchtime Concert Series. 

Thursday, 21 September: Monash Flute Ensemble, 7pm in the Music Auditorium. This event is part of our free Sound Series.

Friday, 22 September: Hindustani Music: Dharambir Singh (sitar) and Bobby Singh (tabla), 7:30pm in the Music Auditorium. This event is part of our free Sound Series.

October 2017

Thursday, 5 October: Monash New Music Ensemble and the Monash Electronic Music Ensemble, 1pm in the Music Auditorium. This event is part of our free Lunchtime Concert Series.  

Friday 6 October: Song without End: The piano music of Chopin and Liszt. External Event. 7pm, Collins St Baptist Church. Tickets: $10 / free for Monash students.

Friday, 6 October: Sandy Evans and Andrea Keller with Jazz Students, 8pm at the JazzLab, 27 Leslie Street Brunswick. Entry $ 25/$15.

Thursday, 12 October: Monash Latin Jazz Ensemble and the Monash Brazilian Jazz Ensemble, 1pm in the Music Auditorium. This event is part of our free Lunchtime Concert Series. 

Thursday, 12 October: Classical Piano, 7.30pm in the Music Auditorium. This event is part of our free Sound Series.

Friday, 13 October: Monash Art Ensemble: New Works by Andrew Ford, Charles MacInnes, Thomas Reiner and Paul Grabowsky. Feat Gian Salter (voice) and Jess Aszodi (voice), 8pm in the Music Auditorium. This event is part of our free Sound Series.

Tuesday 17 October: Pop and Jazz Vocal Showcase, 7pm in the Music Auditorium. Free entry.

Wednesday 18 October: Monash University Singers: From A Land Down Under, 7pm in the Religious Centre, 38 Exhibition Walk, Monash University Clayton. This event is part of our  Sound Series. Tickets $10 / Monash students free. 

Thursday, 19 October: Harpist Anne LeBaron (USA), 1pm in the Music Auditorium. This event is part of our free Lunchtime Concert Series. 

Thursday, 19 October: Wind Symphony, 7.30pm in the Music Auditorium. This event is part of our free Sound Series.

Friday, 20 October: Chamber Music Showcase, 7.30pm in the Music Auditorium. This event is part of our free Sound Series.

 

Previous Years