School of Music represent in 2016 Art Music Awards

ArtMusicAwards2016Finalists for the Australian Music Centre‘s 2016 Art Music Awards were announced last week, with staff and students from Monash University’s Sir Zelman Cowen School of Music featuring heavily. The prestigious awards are presented in 11 categories, from large-scale symphonic pieces to instrumental works and experimental projects, and reflect the diverse, high-quality and flourishing Australian music industry. The award categories recognise works composed and performed in 2015.

Chair of Composition at the Sir Zelman Cowen School of Music, Professor Mary Finsterer has been nominated for ‘Orchestral Work of the Year’ for her symphonic composition Darkest Light, as performed and premiered by the School of Music ensemble, the Monash Academy Orchestra in 2015.

Nyilipidgi Album CoverDirector of the Monash Academy of Performing Arts, Professor Paul Grabowsky in collaboration with the Young Wägilak Group of East Arnhem Land were nominated for ‘Jazz Work of the Year’ for  Nyilipidgi as performed by the School of Music ensemble, The Monash Art Ensemble. Nyilipidgi was released in 2016 through ABC records. Professor Grabowsky was also nominated in the same category for his work Spiel, composed with percussionist Niko Schäuble. 

The Australian Music Centre CEO, John Davis commented of the nominees that they ‘represent our champions, and those who champion our champions. The names of those established and emerging, in cities and in regional areas, show that we have much to celebrate in the Australian art music sector’. 

The 2016 Art Music Awards will be presented at the Plaza Ballroom in Melbourne on Tuesday 16 August, hosted by Jonathan Biggins and with a live performance program curated by Gabriella Smart.

Monash University would like to congratulate all finalists of the 2016 Art Music Awards. For more information on the Awards, and to see a full list of nominees please visit the Australian Music Centre.