Graduate Research

The Theatre, Performance and Music Graduate Research program includes the following research based degrees:

Master of Arts – Develop your specialist knowledge, while writing a thesis of not more than 40,000 words on your program of research. A practice-based program can be taken via the  MA (Music Composition) and the MA (Music Performance).

PhD (Arts) – An extensive, independent research project (80,000 words) on an agreed topic, supported by a minimum of two expert academic supervisors.

PhD (Music Composition) – a practice-based PhD including a research component as well as a creative work component.

(PhD Music Performance) – a practice-based PhD including a research component as well as a creative work component.

Theatre, Performance and Music Program Director: Stuart Grant

School-based Coordinators

HDR coordinator: Joel Crotty
Joel.Crotty@monash.edu

Musicology and Ethnomusicology: Dr Paul Watt
Paul.Watt@monash.edu

Music Composition : Assoc Prof Thomas Reiner
Thomas.Reiner@monash.edu

Music Performance: Classical: Assoc Prof Kenji Fujimura
Kenji.Fujimura@monash.edu

Music Performance: Improvisation: Assoc Prof Robert Burke
Robert.Burke@monash.edu

Music Technology: Ben Grayson
Ben.Grayson@monash.edu