Giving to the Sir Zelman Cowen School of Music

Reid-FurlanettoReid Furlanetto
Anna Chmiel Clarinet Scholarship recipient

“Being the recipient of the Anna Chmiel Memorial Scholarship has allowed me to pursue my dreams and future career. With this scholarship, I was able to focus on perfecting my skills rather than worrying about financial issues. It has also alleviated these worries and concerns from my parents’ minds.”

Thank you!

We would like to acknowledge the support the School receives from our donors and friends who are as passionate as we are to provide students with the best possible music education experience.

Philanthropy plays a major role in our ability to extend and enhance our teaching and learning, research and student support capabilities.

Our donors support a breadth of initiatives including student prizes, undergraduate and post-graduate scholarships, performance training programs and buildings and facilities which include our new practice rooms. Many of these initiatives would not have been possible without your support.

Donor Honour Roll

Julian Burnside: Chamber Music Australia Chair of Composition

Professor Edward Byrne AC and Melissa Byrne: Practice Room

Lady Anna Cowen and the Cowen Family: Sir Zelman Cowen School of Music

Charles and Cornelia Goode Foundation: Sir Zelman Cowen School of Music

Dr Alastair Jackson: Practice Room

Pamela Jenkins on account of ‘The Anna Chmiel Memorial Fund’

Professor Margaret Kartomi AM: Research Fellowship

Opalgate Foundation: Sir Zelman Cowen School of Music

The Ian Potter Foundation: School of Music Building Fund

The Pratt Foundation: Scholarships, Musical Instruments

Yamaha: Post graduate Scholarships, Musical Instruments

The Vizard Foundation: Monash Art Ensemble Project

Anonymous Donor: Monash Jazz Music Scholarship

Student Prizes

Australian and New Zealand Cultural Arts Limited

The Anna Chmiel Memorial Fund

Bernie’s Music Land

Mr David Bornstein

Frà Professor Richard Divall AO OBE

Mrs Joan Earle

Elisabeth Murdoch Trust

Ferngully Lodge

Music Lover’s Society

Peter Tahourdin Memorial Fund

Youth Music Foundation of Australia
Di Bresciani OAM


ACMF_logoDonors of the Anna Chmiel Memorial Fund

Graham Anderson

John Bowman

Jeanette Brookes

Grania Burke

Julie Contole

Heather Dowd

Jenny Dowd

Felicity Hampel

Yongshi Huang

Kate Jenkins

Pamela Jenkins

Kathryn Kings

Paul Kirton

Beth Koce

Rachelle Lewitan

Marlene Marriott

Methodist Ladies College

Julie Nicholson

Robert Osborn

Margaret Portelli

Stephen Seif

Jack Wajcman

5 x Anonymous Donors


The late Hugh Rogers AM

Donors of the Hugh Rogers AM Melbourne-Milan Opera Scholarship

In memory of Hugh Rogers AM, donations supported a Monash Opera student Sophie Burns to participate in a study program in Italy. Hugh was dedicated to supporting educational exchanges with Melbourne’s sister cities in science, education and music.

John Collins

David de Kretser

Anthony Disney

William Dix

Kruims Family

Garry Fowler

Ian Haskins

Michael Heaton

Graham Henderson

Janine Joseph

Margaret Kane

Jan Lammers

Greg Robinson

David Rogers

Peter Rogers

Jane Sharwood

Frances Wardlaw

3 x Anonymous Donors

Peter Tahourdin Memorial Prize
Julia Tahourdin (L)

Donors of the Peter Tahourdin Composition Prize

Susan Campbell

Estate of Peter Richard Tahourdin

Michael Harvey

Jeannie Marsh

Barrie Webb


Making a donation to support the School

There are a number of ways to make a donation to the School.

  • Donate online with a credit card at:
  • Mail cheques or a money order, payable to “Monash University” with a covering letter outlining where you would like to direct your gift to at:

Sir Zelman Cowen School of Music
Care of External Relations, Development and Alumni
PO Box 197
Caulfield East VIC 3145

For further information and to discuss your options, you can contact:

Lisa Mitchell
Development Manager – Arts
phone: 9903 4059