Triple Piano

Map Unavailable

Date(s) - 27 Sep 2013
7:30 PM - 10:00 PM

Robert Blackwood Hall, Building 2


MozartWEBPresented by Monash University Academy of Performing Arts

Pärt Cantus in Memoriam Benjamin Britten
Mozart Concerto No.7 in F major for Three Pianos and Orchestra
Shostakovich Symphony No.1 in F minor, Op.10

Fabian Russell conductor
Tamara Smolyar piano
Kenji Fujimura piano
Philippe Cassard piano
Monash Academy Orchestra

In 1776, Mozart composed three piano concertos, one of which was the Concerto in F for Three Pianos and Orchestra, No.7, K.242. He originally finished K.242 in February 1776 for three pianos; however, when he eventually recomposed it for himself and another pianist in 1780 he rearranged it for two pianos, and that is how the piece is often performed today.

Shostakovich’s first symphony was a tremendous success from its premiere, and is still considered today as one of his finest works. It displays a characteristic combination of liveliness and wit on the one hand, and drama and tragedy on the other.

Ticket Prices
FREE. Please book in advance.

Running Time
Approximately ninety-five minutes including an interval

For more information refer