Russian Spectacular

Loading Map....

Date(s) - 29 Sep 2013
2:30 PM - 4:00 PM

Auditorium, Monash Gippsland Campus


Venue The Auditorium

 Presented by MAPAGippsland

Pärt Cantus in Memoriam Benjamin Britten
Shostakovich Symphony No.1 in F minor
Plus compositions for ten brass performed by the Monash Brass Ensemble

Monash Academy Orchestra
Monash Brass Ensemble
Fabian Russell

Shostakovich’s first symphony was a tremendous success from its premiere, and is still considered today as one of Shostakovich’s finest works. It displays a characteristic combination of liveliness and wit on the one hand, and drama and tragedy on the other.

The transparent and chamber-like orchestration is in quite a contrast to the complex and sophisticated Mahlerian orchestrations found in many of his later symphonies, and the assurance with which the composer imagines, then realizes large-scale structure, is as impressive as his vigor and freshness of gesture.

Ticket Prices
FREE. Please book in advance.

Buy Tickets

Auditorium, Monash Gippsland Campus, Churchill

Running Time
Approximately 95 minutes including a twenty minute interval