Simons, Jarvis shortlisted for Amnesty media award

Associate Professor Margaret Simons.

Monash University journalism’s Associate Professor Margaret Simons and senior lecturer Heather Jarvis have been named finalists in the Amnesty International 2017 Media Awards.

Associate Prof Simons and Ms Jarvis are shortlisted in the radio category for the Fallen Angels documentary, which was broadcast on ABC RN – Earshot.

“In this fourth year of the awards, we were thrilled to receive a record number of entries from commercial, public and community media outlets across Australia,” said Amnesty International Media Coordinator Anita Harvey.

“The 18 judges, all experienced practitioners in the Australian media industry, found it especially challenging this year to whittle down the shortlist.

Heather Jarvis.

“Amnesty thanks them for their expertise and commitment to selecting these finalists from such a brilliant field of entrants.”

Associate Prof Simons and Ms Jarvis have also been named finalists in the UNAA (United Nations Association of Australia) Media Awards in the category,  Promotion of Children’s Rights and Issues, for Fallen Angels.

Fallen Angels has already won a Walkley Award for the Social Equity Journalism category.

Associate Prof Simons and Dave Tacon, a Shanghai-based photojournalist, produced vital work to highlight the issues of exploited children and women in the Philippines.

Associate Prof Simons holds a Doctorate in Creative Arts from the University of Technology Sydney.

As well as her significant contribution to academia, previously at the University of Melbourne and Swinburne,  Associate Prof Simons is a freelance investigative journalist and feature writer.

With photojournalist Dave Tacon, she won the 2015 Walkley for Social Equity Journalism for her essay Fallen Angels, published in The Monthly.

This article also won the 2015 Quill Award for best feature. Her long-form journalism has been published in The Monthly, Inside Story and The Age.

Ms Jarvis is a senior lecturer in journalism, specialising in audio storytelling, radio and documentary.

She has more than 20 years experience as a broadcast and online journalist, presenter & producer at ABC International/Radio Australia and Radio National and has a strong interest in the Asia-Pacific region. 

She has reported from countries around the Asia-Pacific and Africa and has an interest in the role of journalism in international and community development.  Heather is also a freelance podcast producer and radio documentary maker.

Amnesty International has announced the finalists:


‘Fallen Angels’: Heather Jarvis, Margaret Simons (Monash University), Dave Tacon and Lyn Gallacher, ABC Radio National, Earshot

‘Exploitation of Vietnamese students rampant among Melbourne and Sydney businesses’: Trinh Nguyen and Olivia (Ngoc) Nguyen, SBS Radio – Vietnamese Program

‘Somaliland Children’: Sally Sara and Dingani Masuku, ABC radio, Correspondents Report

‘Death In Kalgoorlie’: Sarah Dingle and Wendy Carlisle, ABC Radio National, Background Briefing


‘Long Way Round’: Andrew Dyson, The Age

‘Us and Them’: Glen Le Lievre, Crikey

‘Reforming Racial Discrimination Laws’: Andrew Weldon, The Big Issue

‘Low-cost Housing, London’: Cathy Wilcox, The Age & The Sydney Morning Herald

Indigenous Issues Reporting:

‘Death In Kalgoorlie’: Sarah Dingle and Wendy Carlisle, ABC Radio National, Background Briefing

‘Through American Eyes’: John Eligon, Suzanne Smith, Gregory Nelson, Diana Cave, Ron Foley, Alastair Harris, Vicky Biorac, Chelsea Bond, Damien Cave, Tim Leslie, ABC and New York Times

‘Aviation fuel sniffing in Arnhem Land sparks public health emergency’: Jano Gibson, ABC

‘The Ms Dhu Inquest’: Calla Wahlquist, The Guardian


‘Mosul’: Kate Geraghty, Fairfax Media

‘Home[Less]’: Chris Hopkins, The Sunday Age


‘Voice of Manus’: Behrouz Boochani, The Guardian & The Saturday Paper

‘In a time of plenty, she dies of hunger’: Sally Sara and Dingani Masuku, ABC News Online

‘The Nauru Files’: Paul Farrell, Nick Evershed, Helen Davidson, Ri Liu and David Marr, The Guardian

‘Migrant worker exploitation: the fruit pickers’: Nick McKenzie and Richard Baker, Fairfax Media


‘From Miscarriage to Murder’: Evan Williams, Calliste Weitenberg, Lottie Gammon and Micah McGown, SBS, Dateline

‘Forced to Marry’: Elise Potaka, Tim Anastasi, Joel Stillone, “The Feed”, SBS Viceland

‘The Yazidi – People of the Peacock Angel’: Olivia Rousset, Ipek Tasli, Wendy Boynton and Danielle Akayan, ABC TV, Compass

‘Six Days in Somaliland’: Sally Sara and Dingani Masuku, ABC News

The winners will be announced on November 1 at an awards ceremony at Darlinghurst Theatre in Sydney.