Black, Brown, Beige WEB

Black, Brown and Beige

Black, Brown, Beige WEB

Sunday 10 August 2:30 PM

Venue Robert Blackwood Hall

Buy TicketsBlack, Brown, Beige WEB

Presented by Monash University Academy of Performing Arts

This concert brings together the two worlds of jazz and classical music. The Monash Academy Orchestra and the Monash University Big Band join forces to present a program of works which embody the jazz idiom.

The celebrated American composer John Adams composed Shaker Loops in 1978. Adams writes ‘the term ‘Shaker’ conjures up visions of the pious and industrious souls caught up in the ecstatic frenzy of a dance that culminated in the epiphany of physical and spiritual transcendence’.

James Russo, winner of the 2013 Sir Zelman Cowen School of Music Concerto Competition, will perform Ravel’s Piano Concerto in G, a work deeply infused with jazz idioms and harmonies.

Duke Ellington’s jazz symphony Black, Brown and Beige received its premiere at Carnegie Hall in 1943. Described by Ellington as ‘a tone parallel to the history of the Negro in America’, it is his largest and most ambitious composition.  It is performed alongside Australian composer Don Banks Nexus for jazz quintet and orchestra. Banks was a great musical innovator with a keen interest in electronic music and a flair for orchestration, texture and tone colour. His synthesis of jazz and classical styles into a new ‘Third Style’ led him to become one of the greatest and most unique Australian composers.

Ticket Prices
This is a FREE EVENT

Not suitable for children 12 years and under.

Running Time
Approximately two hours including a twenty minute interval.