Research & Researchers


    •  (See Monash Memo http://www.monash.edu.au/news/show/cultural-typhoon-kicks-off) Cultural Typhoon Melbourne is a group of Melbourne-based scholars, students and activists, initiated by Koichi Iwabuchi, interested in exploring media and cultural studies in Asian contexts. In solidarity with the Association for Cultural Typhoon based in Japan, Cultural Typhoon Melbourne will hold monthly seminars intended to create a space for the free Read more
    • Researchers working on Asian regions Name Email Specialist area Affiliation Emeritus Professor David Chandler David.Chandler@monash.edu Cambodia, Pol Pot and Genocide in Cambodia SOPHIS Emeritus Professor Mark Wahlqvist Mark.Wahlqvist@monash.edu National and International Nutrition Science, Education and Policy; Clinical Nutrition and Internal Medicine Faculty of Arts Prof A.K. Bagchi Institute of Development Studies, Kolkatta Amiya.Bagchi@gmail.com Indian economy Faculty of Arts Prof Zenon Pudlowski Zenon.Pudlowski@monash.edu Engineering Education in the Asia Pacific Region Faculty of Arts  Mr Hashim Abdulhamid  Hashim.Abdulhamid@monash.edu  Arabic-Malay lexicography  LCL Dr Peter Read more
    • Led by Judith Shaw of the MAI, Martin Mulligan and Dave Mercer of RMIT University and Matthew Clarke of Deakin University and supported by industry partners AusAID and the Foundation for Development Cooperation, this comparative study investigates housing resettlement projects in three countries affected by the 2004 tsunami. Read more
    • The revival of Afghan music and music education in Afghanistan should be viewed as one of the most important measures that can be taken to rebuild this traumatised nation. The healing powers of music are too well known to rehearse here. In addition, the rejuvenation of music contributes directly to the building of a viable Read more
    • This project brings together teams from the Monash Asia Institute, Urumqi Normal University in Urumqi, Xinjiang Uygur Autonomous Region, China in an international research collaboration to document, measure, and define the most significant cultural monuments and spaces of Kashgar. Read more
    • Papers are invited for an afternoon of discussions about the architecture of Asia-Pacific relations from different perspectives: economic, political, legal, strategic and social. Read more
    • The Sukunan Program helps the residents of Sukunan village engage with a waste management and sustainable living program. Read more
    • Arc Linkage Project Leveraging remittances with microfinance: a cross-country study Over the last twenty years the volume of funds sent home by migrant workers has expanded to become a key input to national and household economies in Asia, Latin America, Africa and the Pacific region. In many developing countries migrant remittances exceed international aid and investment Read more
    • Are you Pashtun and living in Melbourne? If you are, you might be interested in participating in this research project. Read more

    • Researchers working on Asian regions

      Name Email Specialist area Affiliation
      Emeritus Professor David Chandler David.Chandler@monash.edu Cambodia, Pol Pot and Genocide in Cambodia SOPHIS
      Emeritus Professor Mark Wahlqvist Mark.Wahlqvist@monash.edu National and International Nutrition Science, Education and Policy; Clinical Nutrition and Internal Medicine Faculty of Arts
      Prof A.K. Bagchi
      Institute of Development Studies, Kolkatta
      Amiya.Bagchi@gmail.com Indian economy Faculty of Arts
      Prof Zenon Pudlowski Zenon.Pudlowski@monash.edu Engineering Education in the Asia Pacific Region Faculty of Arts
       Mr Hashim Abdulhamid  Hashim.Abdulhamid@monash.edu  Arabic-Malay lexicography  LCL
      Dr Peter Chang peter.chang@monash.edu  SOPHIS
      Dr Leon Comber leoncomber@hotmail.com
      Dr Joost Coté Joost.Cote@monash.edu Colonial Urban Culture with special reference to Java; Semarang: Colonization of Central Sulawesi; Kartini and sisters SOPHIS
      Dr Judith Shaw Judith.Shaw@monash.edu Microfinance and Micro-enterprise Development, Labour Migration and Migrant Remittances, the Asian Garment Manufacturing Sector, Politics of Post-Tsunami Reconstruction SOPHIS
      Mr Ian Adie Ian.Adie@monash.edu International business
      Dr Aneela Zeb Babar aneela.zeb.babar@gmail.com
      Dr Jayant Bapat Jayant.Bapat@monash.edu Hindu Deities and Temples SOPHIS
      Mr Farhan Bokhari
      International Journalist, Financial Times (London)
      Regional Security in South and Central Asia; Asia Pacific Regional Security Dialogues member
      Ms Rita Camilleri Rita.Camilleri@monash.edu Malaysian Politics
      Dr Lance Castles Lance.Castles@monash.edu Darul Islam and Indonesian Elections
      Mr Paul Cheater Paul.Cheater@monash.edu The relationship between Western and Afghan Music Education
      Ms Helene Chung-Martin Helene.ChungMartin@monash.edu China; Biography
      Dr Andrew Cock Andrew.Cock@monash.edu Political and economic dynamics of agrarian change; peripheral states and peripheral territorial spaces in the modern international system; the governance of agriculture, energy, and climate change in the Southeast Asian region and at a global level. PSI
      Dr Ian Coghlan Ian.Coghlan@monash.edu Tibetan Buddhism
      Dr Leon Comber Leon.Comber@monash.edu Malaysian Insurgency PSI
      Dr Sue Downie Sue.Downie@monash.edu Development Studies, Australian Aid, Peace-keeping, Peace-building and development with special reference to Cambodia and East Timor missions, Dissemination of information in cross-cultural context (Vietnam, Cambodia, Laos and Thailand)
      Dr Angelo Andrea Di Castro Andrea.DiCastro@monash.edu Archaeology of South and Central Asia SOPHIS
      Dr Geetha Govindasamy PSI
      Dr Joan Grant  joankiaora@gmail.com Australian-Vietnamese diplomatic relations, 1975–2005
      Ms Istutiah Gunawan Istutiah.Gunawan@monash.edu Cultures of Southeast Asia with special focus on Indonesia
      Ms Smita Gupta
      Journalist, Times of India, Outlook
      India; Indian General Elections; Human rights violations, with special focus on communal and caste violence
      Dr Alexandra Haendel alexandra.haendel@monash.edu History of Art and Archaeology; Classical Temples of Southeast Asia (Cambodia and Java); Ancient Angkor
      Dr Elisabeth Hames-Brooks hames_brooks@yahoo.com.au Indonesia; Australia-Asia relation; Poetry
      Ms Chooi-Hon Ho Chooihon.Ho@monash.edu Chinese in Australia and the Chinese diaspora LCL
      Dr Gidi Ifergan Gid.Ifergan@monash.edu SOPHIS
      Dr Lea Jellinek Lea.Jellinek@monash.edu Indonesia, Poverty Specialist
      Action research on recycling of waste in villages in Indonesia
      GES
      Mr Edward Kiefer Action research on recycling of waste in villages in Indonesia GES
      Dr Peter Laird Peter.Laird@monash.edu Malaysian Shamanism and Culture; Traditional and tribal medicine; Multilingual geneological documentation and visualization software for indigenous researchers, Anthropologists and Sociologists
      Associate Professor Peg Levine peg.levine@monash.edu PSI
      Dr Meei-Shyuan Lee Meei-Shyuan.Lee@monash.edu Nutritional Science and Public Health Nutrition with special focus on Asia; Bio-Statitiscian and Epidemiologist
      Dr Ian Mabbett Ian.Mabbett@monash.edu SOPHIS
      Prof S. D. Muni
      Professor of Asian Studies, Jawaharlal Nehru University; India’s special envoy to Laos and Cambodia
      Regional Security in the Asia Pacific
      Ms Katy Munson Katy.Munson@monash.edu Artist; Fine Art research with special focus on Asia (Vietnam, Burma, Tibet and Buddhism)
      Ms Uyen Nguyen Uyen.Nguyen@monash.edu Asian Films Project
      Ms Anita Nayar
      Mr Nurul Mu’az Omar Politics, International Relations and Healthcare issues; Malaysian Youth and Democracy
      Dr Maya Raganathan
      Manipal Institute of Communication, Karnataka, India
      Maya.Ranganathan@monash.edu Ethnic conflict in Kashmir and Sri Lanka and the use of the internet
      Dr Sarita Sahay Hindu mythology, folklore and tribal studies, women studies, adolescent studies PSI
      Dr Ahmad Sarmast Ahmad.Sarmast@monash.edu Music and culture of Afghanistan and Central Asia Music
      Prof Shamsul, A.B. World authority on Malaysian civilisation and culture
      Sharmini Sherrard Sharmini.Sherrard@monash.edu PSI
      Mr Kannan Srinivasan PSI
      Dr David Templeman David.Templeman@monash.edu SOPHIS
      Mr David Treisman David.Treisman@monash.edu PSI
      Dr Dennis Walker PSI
      Dr Ann Wiggleworths Ann.Wigglesworth@monash.edu PSI
      Dr Guibin Zhang PSI