2017 Welcome

The Asian Cultural and Media Studies research cluster is pleased to welcome you to its 2017 events. We have big plans for this year following a very active year in 2016. The inaugural pre-conference to the 5th Inter-Asia Popular Music Conference on 9th December 2016 allowed an engaging exchange of new research ideas by our PhD students across a variety of disciplines. The reading groups organised by Earvin Cabalquinto (our 2016 postgraduate representative and now ECR representative) are growing in popularity and the reading groups will continue in 2017 as a monthly event to provide our HDR students with a collective identity and a relaxed and social environment within which to discuss key texts in the field. ACMS cluster members will provide short introductions to key readers as a way of creating a space for ongoing engagement and sharing of ideas between academic staff and postgraduate students. We welcome participation from interested students across all Faculties and from other universities. Please email Tegan Farell, our new postgraduate student representative, for more information about the reading groups and how to get involved.

The ACMS webpage has a new look featuring our research projects, profiles of current and recently graduated postgraduate students, and events. It is worth checking in if you haven’t done so for awhile to familiarise yourself with the new interface: http://artsonline.monash.edu.au/mai/the-asian-cultural-and-media-studies-research-cluster-page/

All cluster members (old and new) and postgraduate students are warmly invited to our welcome event on 20 March 2017. More details about all of our events will be posted as details are finalised. Please also feel free to join our Facebook group where current information will be posted regularly: https://www.facebook.com/groups/MonashACMS/.

 If you would like to discuss any ideas for the cluster or advertise or promote research initiatives via ACMS in the new year, please do get in touch. 

Convenors: Xin Gu (xin.gu@monash.edu) and Olivia Khoo (olivia.khoo@monash.edu)

Postgraduate representative: Tegan Farrell (tegan.farrell@monash.edu)

ECR representative: Earvin Cabalquinto (earvin.cabalquinto@monash.edu)