Monash Japanese Studies students receive New Colombo Plan Grants

All eight students leaving for Japan to start student exchange programs this April will receive grants of $6,000 New Colombo Plan Mobility Programs scheme. This is the pilot phase of the New Colombo Plan, for which the Australian Government announced $100 million of new funding over five years. The pilot phase takes place in 2014, involving Japan, Hong Kong, Indonesia and Singapore, will include both further Mobility Program grants for short-term study of up to one semester, and a limited number of major scholarships for study undertaken over a full semester or year. Monash University will be applying for funding for both student exchange and short-term international study programs to the destination countries in subsequent rounds of the pilot phase, and in 2015 and beyond. The recipients of the Mobility Program funding under this first pilot round and their host universities are: Shojeeb Alam and Mark Watson (Hitotsubashi University), Stephanie Kwok and Stephanie Luo (Nagoya University), Charleen Lay and Arno Xu (Saitama University), Jackson Thomas (Meijigakuin University) and Taylah Hardy (Seikei University).

 Further information on the New Colombo Plan is available from: