Film, Media and Communications

Our program brings together some of Australia’s leading researchers in film, television, communication, media studies, journalism and journalism studies. The potential research topics range from the effects of digital media on globalisation to indigenous film, and new forms of journalism. We can also offer a practice-based PhD in journalism.

Within the program, candidates have the opportunity to draw on supervision expertise from across the faculty, working from a variety of theoretical perspectives.

Program content

The following degrees are offered in the Film, Media and Communications Program: 

  • 2695 Master of Arts
  • 0020 Doctor of Philosophy
  • 4103 Doctor of Philosophy (Journalism)

Link to the 2014 Handbook entry for the Film Media and Communications HDR program

Program contacts

Program Director: A/Prof Deane Williams

Program Coordinator: Dr Andy Ruddock

Program Administrator: Ms Celeste Hulse

Research areas and supervisors

Communications and Media Studies

Dr Paul Atkinson                            

Dr Daniel Black                               

Dr Elizabeth Coleman                  

Dr Simon  Cooper

A/Prof Kevin Foster

Dr Fleur Gabriel

A/Prof Mark Gibson

A/Prof Gil-Soo Han               

Dr David Holmes                            

A/Prof Shane Homan

A/Prof Brett Hutchins

Dr Graham Jones

Dr Tony Moore                             

Dr Simone Murray   

Dr Elizabeth Paton               

Dr Andy Ruddock

Dr Susan Yell

Dr Agnieszka Sobocinska

Dr Olivia Khoo

Dr Andrea Baker

Film and Television

Dr Therese Davis

Dr Olivia Khoo

A/Prof Adrian Martin

Dr Claire Perkins

Dr Belinda Smaill

Dr Constantine Verevis

A/Prof Deane Williams

Dr Jinna Tay

Journalism and Journalism Studies

Dr Fay Anderson

Dr Andrea Baker

Dr David Dunstan

Dr Johan Lidberg                                                        

Dr Mia Lindgren                             

Prof Christopher Nash                                              

Dr Louise North

Public Relations

A/Prof Joy Chia

Interdisciplinary Expertise in Film, Media and Communications *

Dr Irfan Ahmad (Politics)                     

Dr Philip Anderson (French Studies)

Dr Ana-Maria Bliuc (Behavioural Studies)

Dr Francesca Collins (Behavioural Studies)

Dr Karen Crinall (Community Welfare and Counselling)

A/Prof Gloria Davies (Chinese Studies)

Dr Mark Davis (Sociology)

Dr Amy Dobson (Women’s and Gender Studies)

Dr Beth Edmondson (International relations)

Dr Axel Fliethmann (German Studies)

A/Prof Suzanne Fraser (Women’s and Gender Studies)

A/Prof Anita Harris (Sociology)

A/Prof Peter Lentini (Politics)

Dr Stuart Levy (International relations)

A/Prof JaneMaree Maher (Women’s and Gender Studies)

Dr Sarah McDonald (Spanish and Latin American Studies)

Prof Alan Petersen (Sociology)

Dr Louise Poland (  Publishing and Editing Studies)

A/Prof Susanna Scarparo (Italian Studies)

Dr Agnieszka Sobocinska (Australian Studies)

Dr Danielle Tyson (Criminology)

* Available for associate supervision