• Administration

    Director Professor Sharon Pickering
    Deputy TBA
    Centre Manager Ms Maliha Dhaliwal
    Centre Executive Officer Ms Stephanie Keogh-Shine
    Undergraduate Coordinator/s Dr Vanessa Wong and Dr Libby Porter
    Honours Coordinator A/Prof David Dunkerley
    Postgraduate Coursework Coordinator Dr Bruce Missingham
    Research Coordinator Prof Neville Nicholls
    Graduate Research Coordinator Dr Craig Thorburn


    Jason Beringer Earth systems science Professor, ARC Future Fellow
    Andrew Coutts Micrometeorology Research Fellow
    Ailie Gallant Climate science Lecturer
    Sarah Harris Climate and bushfire science & remote sensing Research Fellow
    Musa Kilinc Climate and bushfire science Research Fellow
    Margaret Loughnan Enviromental public health Research Fellow
    Neville Nicholls Climate science Professor
    Nigel Tapper Climate science Professor
    Adjunct researchers
    Graeme Pearman Climatology Professor and Senior Research Fellow

    Vegetation, Soils, Land, Water

    Simon Connor Palaeoecology Lecturer
    David Dunkerley Hydrology and geomorphology Associate Professor
    Peter Kershaw Palaeoecology Emeritus Professor
    Merna McKenzie Palaeoecology Research Fellow
    Vanessa Wong Soil science Senior Lecturer
    Adjunct researchers
    Karen Bell Molecular systematics/biogeography Research Fellow
    Sander van der Kaars Palaeoecology Research Associate
    Roger Wrigley Water resources Senior Research Fellow

    Society and Environment

    Christian Kull Political ecology & development Deputy Head of School, Associate Professor
    Ruth Lane Environmental governance and sustainability Senior Lecturer
    Bruce Missingham Community development Lecturer
    Libby Porter Urban geography & planning Senior Lecturer
    Joe Powell Historical geography Emeritus Professor
    Haripriya Rangan Political ecology, development geography, and environmental history Head of School, Associate Professor
    Wendy Stubbs Corporate sustainability and corporate social responsibility Senior Lecturer
    Elissa Sutherland Economic geography Lecturer
    Adeline Tay Cultural geography 1st year coordinator, Lecturer
    Craig Thorburn Political ecology & international development Senior Lecturer
    Sally Weller Economic geography ARC Future Fellow
    Xuan Zhu GIS & environmental management Senior Lecturer; Director Centre for GIS
    Adjunct researchers
    Chris Cocklin (James Cook University) Resources and environment Professorial Fellow
    Ben Derudder (Ghent University) Urban geography Professor, Marie Curie Research Fellow
    Jacqui Dibden Social change & rural development Senior Research Fellow
    Chris MacDonald Regional economic development Research Fellow
    Stephen Legg Environmental history Adjunct Senior Research Fellow
    Katharine McKinnon (Macquarie University) Development theory and practice Adjunct
    Kevin O’Connor (University of Melbourne) Economic geography / regional science Professorial Fellow
    John Tomaney (University College London) Urban and regional planning Professorial Fellow

    Technical Staff

    Darren J. Hocking Technical Officer
    Jillian Pettigrew Laboratory/research assistant
    Ursula Pietrzak Laboratory Manager
    Kara Rasmanis Multi-media Technician

    Postgraduate (masters, PhD) students

    see postgraduate profiles page