Single Degrees

Monash Arts offers an exciting selection of 20 single degrees. The type of single degree you choose will depend on the areas you want to study and what you want to do after university.

Our largest course, the Bachelor of Arts, is your standard three-year degree. It is a flexible degree that allows you to keep your options open and explore a wide range of study areas.

In addition to the Bachelor of Arts, we offer a number of single specialist degrees. Specialist degrees are for those who want to focus on one particular area of study in more detail e.g. Bachelor of Journalism or Bachelor of Music.

Structure of single degrees

Single degrees are usually taken over 3 years if studying full time.

The degree is made up of 24 units (or subjects). These are worth 6 points each. To complete the degree you must earn 144 points.

Typically you would study 48 points per year, which is 8 units.

If you are studying part-time you have up to 8 years to complete a single degree.

Compulsory Arts components

It is compulsory to structure a Bachelor of Arts degree with a major, minor, and four additional arts units. The structure of a specialist degree is the same as the Bachelor of Arts, except that it may have compulsory units and specified areas of study.

Major: 8 units (48 points) taken over 3 years. This is the area of study you choose to specialise in.

Minor: 4 units (24 points) taken from an area of study that is different to your major.

Additional arts units: 4 units (24 points) taken in any area(s) of study.


The remaining 8 units (48 points) can be structured in a variety of ways. For example, you could complete another major, or two additional minors, or eight different units.

You can even study units from another faculty such as Business and Economics, Information Technology or Science.

Choose from…

More News