Sir Zelman Cowen School of Music presents – SOUND SERIES – NEW MUSIC ENSEMBLE

Date/Time: Thu 16 Oct / 7:00 pm - 8:00 pm

Location: Monash University Performing Arts Complex, building 68


The Monash New Music Ensemble directed by Charles MacInnes is made up of composers and instrumentalists from the Sir Zelman Cowen School of Music.

With the tonal upheavals of Schoenberg and Ives now over a century old and John Cage’s silence as well as Steve Reich’s cycles becoming vintage, what can “new” music mean to us today? The MNME players introduce and perform new works created specifically for them and heard for the first time in this concert. Sound is explored using improvisation, objects and game-controllers, real-time sampling, the projected image, algorithms and spatialization. ‘Lie back and relax, listen, look, feel and remember the future; try to foresee the past’ – Heinz Holliger on Thomas Demenga plays Bach/Carter (ECM New Series 1391).


Tickets available at the door from 6.30pm 
$10.00 tickets
Concession $6.00
Free for all Monash Students with current ID


Loading Map....