MAPA – Organ Symphony with the Monash Academy Orchestra

Date/Time: Sun 09 Apr / 2:30 pm - 5:30 pm

Location: Monash University, Robert Blackwood Hall, 49 Scenic Boulevard, Clayton Campus

Jessica Cottis conducts the Monash Academy Orchestra, with music by Elena Kats-Chernin, Medtner and Saint-Saëns.

Presented by Monash Academy of Performing Arts in association with the Sir Zelman Cowen School of Music.

Elena Kats-Chernin: Mythic
Medtner: Piano Concerto No. 1 in C minor, Op.33
Saint-Saëns: Symphony No.3 in C minor, Op.78 ‘Organ Symphony’

Jessica Cottis: conductor
Jayson Gillham
Monash Academy Orchestra

Hailed in the UK music press as ‘one to watch’, Australian born Jessica Cottis possesses intellectual rigour, innate musicality and an easy authority; she is a charismatic figure on the podium who brings dynamism, intensity and clarity of vision to all her performances.

Born and raised in Queensland, London-based Australian pianist Jayson Gillham is recognised as one of the finest pianists of his generation. He is internationally praised for his compelling performances and relentless elegance. Jayson’s recent performances of Beethoven Piano Concerto No.4 with the Sydney Symphony Orchestra under the baton of Vladimir Ashkenazy, were met with critical acclaim.

For further information, please contact the MAPA Box Office
990 51111

Loading Map....