MAPA – MSO & The Australian String Quartet

Date/Time: Fri 31 Mar / 8:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Location: Monash University, Robert Blackwood Hall, 49 Scenic Boulevard, Clayton Campus

Presented by Melbourne Symphony Orchestra

Stravinsky Dumbarton Oaks
Hindson The Rave and The Nightingale
Schubert String Quartet No.14 Death and the Maiden (orchestral version)

In the first of three exciting chamber music concerts in 2017, the Australian String Quartet and the MSO delve into some personal favourites from MSO’s Concertmaster and ASQ violinist Dale Barltrop.

We begin with Stravinsky’s Dumbarton Oaks, a private commission to celebrate the thirtieth wedding anniversary of Robert and Mildred Bliss, an American couple living in a 19th century mansion in Washington DC called ‘Dumbarton Oaks’. With his daughter’s terminal tuberculosis weighing heavily on his mind, Stravinsky took inspiration from the gardens of Dumbarton Oaks, and Bach’s Brandenburg Concertos, which the composer loved, to create this work.

Australian composer Matthew Hindson’s The Rave and the Nightingale takes its inspiration from Schubert’s monolithic last string quartet, Quartet No.15 in G Major, composed in 1826. In this work for string quartet and orchestra, Hindson questions what sort of music would Schubert write, if he had been born in the late 20th century – techno-inspired electronica anthems perhaps? Schubert’s own much loved String Quartet No.14 Death and the Maiden, played in a version for string orchestra, concludes the program.

For further information, please contact the MAPA Box Office
990 51111

Loading Map....