Current Postgraduate Researchers

Monash Criminology has the pleasure of welcoming postgraduate researchers joining us throughout the year and farewelling our graduates as they move into exciting careers (see Alumni). Our current postgraduate researchers are listed below.

Karen Broadley

Karen Broadley – Karen.broadley@monash.edu

Research Interests: Child abuse and neglect, Child protection, Risk assessment, Applying the public health model as a conceptual model to the problem of child abuse and neglect.
Read more…

Rachael Burgin

Rachael Burgin – rachael.burgin@monash.edu

Research Interests: Sexual violence, sexual consent, law reform, access to justice.
Read more…

Kate Burns

Kate Burns – Kate.burns@monash.edu

Research Interests: Justice reinvestment, criminal justice policy, criminal justice systems, imprisonment, regulation and governance.
Read more…

Daphne Choi

Daphne Choi daphne.choi@monash.edu

Research Interests: Restorative Justice, Punishment and Prison, Capital Punishment, Therapeutic Jurisprudence, Convict Criminology, Feminism.
Read more…

Brandy Cochrane

Brandy Cochrane – Brandy.cochrane@monash.edu

Research Interests: Borders, Gender, Security, Illegalised Migration.
Read more…

no photo

Cara Gledhill – cfgle1@student.monash.edu

Research Interests: Imprisonment, decarceration, prison abolition, intersectionality, state crime, sexuality and gender, critical criminology.
Read more…

Bodean Hedwards

Bodean Hedwards – Bodean.hedwards@monash.edu

Research Interests: Forced and irregular migration, refugees, anti-slavery, human rights and gender.
Read more…

no photo

Nicola Helps – Nicola.helps@monash.edu

Research Interests: Governance and control, practices of exclusion, criminalisation of social marginalisation.
Read more…

Mary Iliadis

Mary Iliadis – mary.iliadis@monash.edu

Research Interests: Victimology, victims’ rights, prosecutorial decision-making, access to justice issues and law reform.
Read more…

Sara Maher – Sara.maher@monash.edu

Research Interests: Women’s oral histories of forced migration and conflict as well as diaspora women’s lives after trauma, especially militarised sexual assault.
Read more…

Rebecca Powell

Rebecca Powell – Rebecca.powell@monash.edu

Research Interests: Deportations policy and practice, the criminological concept of crimmigration.
Read more…

Imogen Richards

Imogen Richards – imogen.richards@monash.edu

Research Interests: Political economy, counterterrorism, neo-jihadism, media studies, political philosophy.
Read more…

Sirakul Suwinthawong

Sirakul Suwinthawong – sirakul.suwinthawong@monash.edu

Research Interests: Irregular migration/ Borders/ Policy implementation/ Thailand and Southeast Asia.
Read more…

Shih Joo Tan

Shih Joo Tan – shih.tan@monash.edu

Research Interests: Human trafficking, gender, transnational crimes, white-collar crimes.
Read more…

Madeleine Ulbrick

Madeleine Ulbrick – madeleine.ulbrick@monash.edu

Research Interests: Family violence, family law, access to justice, and law reform.
Read more…

David Vakalis

David Vakalis – david.vakalis@monash.edu

Research Interests: Social movements; policing; outlaw motorcycle clubs; HIV; HIV criminalisation; social geography; critical criminology; ethnography; “counter-terrorism”; protest; homelessness; political, military and corporate crime.
Read more…

John Whitehead

John Whitehead – John.whitehead@monash.edu

Research Interests: Serious & Sexual Offending, Restorative Justice, Customary Mediation, Cultural Criminology, Indigenous Research Methodologies.
Read more…