The ANZSOC Monash Criminology Postgraduate Award

Supporting Postgraduate Research: The Monash University Postgraduate Prize

An Award for Best Presentation

Monash Criminology is an active supporter of the pursuit of excellence in postgraduate research. In 2011 it initiated and sponsored the Monash University Postgraduate Prize, an award for the best presentation at the annual Australian and New Zealand Society of Criminology Postgraduate Conference.

As an annual prize, this is awarded to the most outstanding presentation of criminological research by a current postgraduate.

Past winners of the award

2011 Helena Menih, Griffith
2012 Rosemary Cassidy, UWS
2013 Mary Iliadis, Monash
2014 Mellisa Jardine, Monash
2015 Amin Allmardany, UNSW
2016 Tess Barlett, Monash
2017 Hayley Cullen, Sydney

Monash University Postgraduate Award Prize Rules & Regulations

1. Eligibility for the Award
To be eligible for the prize, an individual must meet the following criteria:
1.1 Be registered for the ANZSOC Postgraduate Conference
1.2 Give a presentation or poster at the Conference
1.3 Be enrolled in a Masters by Research or Doctor of Philosophy program at a recognised University
1.4 Not have submitted their Masters or Doctorate thesis for examination at the time of the conference

2. Voting
2.1 Eligibility
2.1.1 All those who register for the ANZSOC Postgraduate Conference are eligible to vote, regardless of eligibility for the award.
2.1.2 In the case of two or more presenters for one paper, they are eligible for the award as a group not as individuals and in the case of winning the award the prize will be distributed among them and their names will all be inscribed on the award with a notation to indicate a joint paper.
2.1.3 Any individual can only be eligible once for the prize in any year. In the case of a presenter giving both a paper and poster and/or giving more than one paper or poster at the Conference, the individual will be asked prior to finalisation of the Ballot to nominate the paper or poster they wish to be included in the vote. Similarly if the individual is presenting as an individual and a s a co-author they will be asked to nominate which paper is to be included. This may invalidate the eligibility of their co-author if the co-author is not also presenting more than one paper or poster presentation.

2.2 Process
2.2.1 The voting system is a points-based system, with a vote of 3, 2, and 1 point to be distributed by each eligible voter to their top three presentations (oral or poster) for the day
2.2.2 The voting will be conducted at the conclusion of the presentations and will be coordinated by the ANZSOC Postgraduate Conference Committee team

2.3 Invalid votes
2.3.1 The vote will be invalid if the voter uses the same number more than once and/or casts a vote for more than three people.

2.4 Results
2.4.1 The person with the most points wins the award. In the case of a tie of two people, both will receive the award. In the case of more than two people with the same number of points the ANZSOC Postgraduate committee and participating academics who have attended the conference for the day will cast their vote to determine a winner.

3. Prize & announcement

3.1 The prize includes a $250 cheque and a certificate.
3.2 In the case of two winners, both will receive the cash prize and a certificate.
3.3 The winner will be announced at the conclusion of the ANZSOC postgraduate Conference. It will also be announced at the ANZSOC Conference Dinner later in the conference week. The winner will also be published in the ANZSOC newsletter.