Enrolment and Entry Level Testing

The Chinese Studies Program conducts diagnostic entry level tests to ensure that new students who have studied Chinese before enrol at the level most appropriate for their current language proficiency. Students with no previous Chinese language background, students unable to read or write any Chinese or students who have completed at least three years of Chinese secondary education (in China, Hong Kong or Taiwan) are not required to take an entry level test.

Enrolment in First Semester:

  1. If you are an absolute beginner you may enrol without approval in Chinese Introductory 1 ATS1001.
  2. If you are unable to read or write Chinese but are able to speak and understand some form of Chinese (Mandarin, Cantonese, Hokkien etc.) you should contact the unit coordinator to obtain authorisation to enrol in Chinese introductory for background speakers ATS1905/1906 (see below). You are not required to take the entry level test.
  3. If you have completed IB or VCE L2 (Basic stream) Chinese Units 3/4 you may provisionally enrol in Chinese Intermediate 1 ATS2003. You are required to sit the entry level test to confirm your entry level.
  4. If you have completed IB or VCE L2 (Advanced stream) or VCE L1 Chinese Units 3/4, or if you have studied Chinese overseas, you may provisionally enrol in Chinese Proficient 1 ATS2005. You are required to sit the entry level test to confirm your entry level
  5. If you have completed VCE L1 Chinese Units 3/4 you may provisionally enrol in Chinese Advanced 3 ATS3009. You are required to sit the entry level test to confirm your entry level.
  6. If you have completed at least three years of Chinese secondary education (in China, Hong Kong or Taiwan) you may enrol in Chinese studies advanced 5 ATS3011 or in Chinese translation 1 ATS1959. Please contact the unit coordinator for enrolment approval.

Enrolment in Second Semester:

  1. If you have no previous Chinese language background and are unable to read or write any Chinese you cannot enrol in a Chinese language unit in first semester, but may wish to consider enrolling in
  2. If you have completed any stream of IB or VCE Chinese you are required to sit the entry level test to confirm your entry level.
  3. If you have completed at least three years of Chinese secondary education (in China, Hong Kong or Taiwan) you may enrol in Chinese studies advanced 6 ATS3012 or in Chinese translation 2 ATS1940. Please contact the unit coordinator for enrolment approval.

To complete the online questionnaire and entry level test please go to:
http://artsonline.monash.edu.au/chinese/entry-level-test/

The questionnaire and test function best in Mozilla Firefox or Google Chrome browsers.

For further information you may contact any of the following Chinese Studies unit coordinators:

Chinese introductory 1 & 2 ATS1001/1002 Mr Scott Grant Room S522, scott.grant@monash.edu
Chinese introductory for background speakers ATS1905/1906 Dr Hui Huang Room S517, hui.huang@monash.edu
Chinese intermediate 1 & 2 ATS2003/2004 Dr Robert Irving Room S513, robert.irving@monash.edu
Chinese proficient 1 & 2 ATS2005/2006 Dr Lijun Bi Room S528, lijun.bi@monash.edu
Chinese advanced 1 & 2 ATS3007/3008 Dr Hui Huang Room S517, hui.huang@monash.edu
Chinese advanced 3–6 ATS3009/10 and ATS3011/3012 Ms Hui Xu Room S521A, hui.xu@monash.edu
Chinese translation 1 & 2 ATS1959/1940 Mr Chunming Shan Room S515, chunming.shan@monash.edu
Chinese translation for professional purposes ATS2043/2044; From translation to interpreting in Chinese ATS3045/3046 Ms Hailan Paulsen Room S518, hailan.paulsen@monash.edu
Chinese business translation ATS3013/3014 Ms Candy Wang Room S521, candy.wang@monash.edu
Chinese media analysis ATS3041/3042 Dr Jonathan Benney Room S507, jonathan.benney@monash.edu
Understanding modern China ATS2039

Understanding contemporary China  ATS2040

Prof Gloria Davies Room S514, gloria.davies@monash.edu

 

OR
View online answers and submit an enquiry with ask.monash at https://my.monash.edu.au/askmonash/
Phone: +61 3 9902 6011