Advisory Board

The ACJC is governed by Monash University regulations and an Advisory Board composed of university and external members. We value the academic independence of our Centre and its staff in accordance with our mission and the ethical practices of Monash University.

The ACJC Advisory Board meets on a quarterly basis and is composed of a balance of university and external members. Its role is to provide strategic advice and to ensure that the Centre is fulfilling its mission statement and fiduciary duties. Each year the ACJC Director prepares a Strategic Report and an Annual Report which is reviewed by the Advisory Board.

Robyne Schwarz AM Chair of Advisory Board 
Professor Rae Frances Dean, Faculty of Arts
Professor David Copolov Pro Vice-Chancellor, Office of the Vice-Chancellor & President
Damien Farrell Executive Director, External Relations, Development and Alumni
A/Professor Mark Baker Director, Australian Centre for Jewish Civilisation
Professor Alistair Thomson Head, School of Philosophy, History and International Studies
Professor Ilana Snyder Faculty of Education
Bernard Marin AM Accountant, Board Member Melbourne Writers Festival, Koori Heritage Trust
Monica Kempler Lawyer
Dr Helen Light AM Former CEO, Jewish Museum of Australia
Gary Samowitz CEO Jewish Aid Australia
Romy Grace Lawyer


ACJC Staff ACJC staff. … Read more



ACJC Sessional Staff ACJC Sessional Staff contribute to our teaching program as lecturers and tutors in all of our study areas. They are an essential part of the … Read more



ACJC Adjuncts ACJC Adjuncts are researchers who have been appointed to the ACJC. They contribute to the intellectual life of the Centre and support our research environment. … Read more



Our History colleagues The ACJC is part of the larger School of Philosophical, Historical and International Studies. Many of our teaching units, programs and academic interests are aligned with the discipline of the Monash History Program. … Read more